Exposure Notifications

Protect yourself and your family


One of the best tools to help slow the spread of COVID-19 is your phone. UT Exposure Notifications is a free and voluntary service developed to help users know of possible exposure to COVID-19

This service is a partnership with Google and Apple. By opting in, your Android or iPhone will share anonymous information with other UT Exposure Notification users using your phone's Bluetooth.

Knowing about potential exposure allows you to self-quarantine immediately and reduce the risk of spreading COVID-19 to your friends, family, neighbors and co-workers.

Android users can download UT Exposure Notifications on the Google Play Story

iPhone users can enable UT Exposure Notifications in their phone Exposure Notification settings.



Image


Frequently asked questions


Exposure Notification relies on people opting in to the service to be effective. When two people have activated Exposure Notifications on their smartphones and come in close proximity to one another, they exchange anonymized “tokens” that log that close interaction for 14 days. If one of those two people tests positive for COVID-19 after that encounter and choose to enable the exposure notification service, the other individual will receive an alert that they have been potentially exposed to COVID-19. They will be directed to self quarantine immediately and will be referred to COVID-19 resources.

Additional FAQs about how the system works can be found here.

Image

Users have the ability to opt out of notifications at any time. The service will never track your location. Your identity will never be stored or transmitted to anyone.