Governor Issues Executive Order Moving Sections of Rural Utah to Green Health Risk Status

UPDATE (August 14, 2020) – A recent public health order has changed references to “risk” to “restriction.” So in this blog post, references to “New Normal” really mean “Minimal Restriction Level.”

SALT LAKE CITY (June 18, 2020) – In close consultation with local health authorities and with the Utah Department of Health, Gov. Gary R. Herbert has approved requests for the following counties to transition to Green, or New Normal Health Risk Status: Beaver, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Millard, Piute, Uintah and Wayne beginning tomorrow, June 19, 2020 at 1:00 pm.

Gov. Herbert issued the following statement: 

“Limiting the spread of the coronavirus, even as we reactivate the economy, has required data-informed judgment and prudent decision making,” said. Gov. Herbert. “As we move from stabilization to recovery, the health guidance in our communities will vary because of differing conditions across the state.”

“The nine counties moving into the Green, or ‘New Normal’ risk category account for a wide swath of Utah’s geography, but only three percent of Utah’s population. They also have some of Utah’s lowest case counts and hospitalization rates. The rural lifestyle they enjoy is defined by wider physical distancing, and smaller, less densely populated towns. Although no area is completely free from risk, we feel comfortable having these sparsely populated regions transition from Yellow to Green.”

“I continue to be very concerned, however, about the potential threat to hospital capacity from the increasing case counts in our more densely populated regions. As we re-engage economically, we need greater personal responsibility, not less. Utah residents must continue to keep one another safe through common-sense physical distancing, mask wearing, staying home when sick, and regular hand washing.”

The language of the order will be released tomorrow at 1:00 p.m when the order goes into effect.